events

  • Wednesday 10 October 2018  
  • Thursday 11 October 2018  
  • Friday 12 October 2018  
  • Saturday 13 October 2018  
  • Sunday 14 October 2018  
  • Monday 15 October 2018  
  • Wednesday 17 October 2018  
  • Thursday 18 October 2018  
  • Friday 19 October 2018  
  • Saturday 20 October 2018  
  • Sunday 21 October 2018  
  • Monday 22 October 2018  
  • Wednesday 24 October 2018  
  • Thursday 25 October 2018  
  • Friday 26 October 2018  
  • Saturday 27 October 2018  
  • Sunday 28 October 2018  
  • Monday 29 October 2018  
  • Wednesday 31 October 2018  
  • Thursday 1 November 2018  
  • Friday 2 November 2018  
  • Saturday 3 November 2018  
  • Sunday 4 November 2018  
  • Monday 5 November 2018  

Showroom

Length: 28’. In loop together with The Glass Wall

 

Collection Argos, Centre for Art and Media

 

 

Zimmer, Gespräche

Dora García

© Courtesy Argos, Centre for Art and Media
© Courtesy Argos, Centre for Art and Media

On October 10, Spanish artist Dora Garcia will present the Belgian premiere of her latest film Segunda Vez (2018) at CINEMATEK. On this occasion, CINEMATEK also shows a retrospective of her work, both on its own screens and in room SR5 at Kanal, where her two videos The Glass Wall and Zimmer, Gespräche are screened.

A Leipzig apartment is the chosen setting for an encounter between a Stasi officer and a civilian informant in Zimmer Gespräche (‘Room, Conversations’). Until 1989, the Stasi was the all-powerful East-German police. However, neither the Stasi nor the city of Leipzig are ever specifically mentioned. The video is thus set in an undetermined time and space, only discernible through the accent of the actors and the clothes they wear. Constructing a realistic scene is not Dora Garcia’s intention, and Zimmer Gespräche is neither a documentary nor a documentary fiction. Garcia is attempting to communicate abstract notions such as fear, control, authority, submissiveness, obedience, absurdity, power or surveillance by using the parameters of a given historical situation. Such notions, which are closely connected to issues of secrecy, archiving, the community or codes of human behaviour, are recurring themes in the work of this Spanish artist.

 

 

CINEMATEK has been a leading force for 80 years in providing daily explorations through the history of cinema. From the beginning, the approach has been wider than just a historical perspective, also reflecting the relationship contemporary, visual and performance arts have with the moving image. Through festivals and film-cycles CINEMATEK presents the works of the avant-garde, showcasing artists bringing together different disciplines and pushing the language of film. It was no surprise that the CINEMATEK accepted the Kanal Foundation's invitation for them to join forces.

Working in dialogue with Argos, Centre for Art and Media and collaborating with the Centre Pompidou Experimental Film Department SHOWroom CINEMATEK daily screens the work of contemporary filmmakers shown in a continuous digital program. Once a month the showroom will also host a special event, SWEET 16, paying tribute to 16mm film.

 

 

Zimmer Gespräche
Production : Dora García
2006, 28’,  color, German spoken with English subtitles, digital file